Mid-Atlantic Curling Assn.

The Mid Atlantic Curling Association is a loose confederation of four clubs, formerly five clubs, in the Mid-Atlantic area.

The intent of the MACA is to promote curling and camaraderie among the various clubs, and to give curlers the opportunity to travel and play at other clubs in a friendly environment.

Each MACA is a one day event consisting of two six-end games. Multiple draws are usually held to accommodate the 32 curlers (eight per club). In addition to the unusual number of ends, each curler rotates through all four rink positions, lead, second, vice, and skip. That’ll take a bit of explanation.

Suppose your first position, frequently drawn out of a hat, is lead. You will play two ends as lead, then two ends as second, and then one end at vice (3rd) and one final end as skip. That’s the end of the first game.

The second game starts you out at vice again, and you play two ends as vice, two ends as skip, then one end each as lead and second. As you can see everybody plays every position for three ends, regardless of the individuals experience or skill level. It’s part of MACA and a good learning experience in a non stressful environment.

It’s a very friendly competition, and it’s quite common to see an experienced skip on one rink coaching a new competing skip on the same sheet of ice! Your teammates? Drawn out of a hat of course.

Do we keep score? Of course! There is a long convoluted scoring process that rewards clubs with points for the number of curlers attending, points scored in each end, the number of ends won, and of course the number of games won. The scoresheet is at the bottom of the page.

2013-2015 Schedule
At Philadelphia Fall 2013
At Potomac Winter 2014
At Plainfield Fall 2014
At Chesapeake Winter 2015

Results 2011-12-13
Potomac 5,531.5
Philadelphia 5,152.5
Plainfield 3,677.5
Chesapeake 3,672.5
Previous Winners
Season Club Points
1990 – 91 Potomac 5,455
1991 – 92 Plainfield 6,275
1992 – 93 Potomac 5,745
1993 – 94 The Weather
1994 – 95 Philadelphia 7,765
1995 – 96 Philadelphia 5,657.50
1996 – 97 Plainfield 5,583.50
1997 – 98 Potomac 4,748.75
1998 – 99 Potomac 5,037.50
1999 – 2000 Potomac 5,017.25
2000 – 01 Plainfield 5,027.50
2001 – 02 Potomac 7,411
2002 – 03 Potomac 4,582.5
2003 – 04 Plainfield   5,029.5
2004 – 05 Potomac 6,787.875
2005 – 06 Potomac 4,726.25
2006 – 07 Philadelphia 5,198.125
2007 – 08
2008 – 09
The format changed, so now two clubs host the event each season and the trophy will be awarded every other year
2009 – 10 – 11 Potomac 5044.5
2011 – 12 – 13 Potomac 5,531.5

If you are interested, our MACA coordinators are Pete Morelewicz and Chuck Skinner, and we’re always looking for more MACA curlers!

If you are really curious, the scoring spreadsheet (Microsoft Excel) is available for your perusal.